The Romancer: Game Warden Edition

I love anything that has to do with love and romance. I like watching shows like “Married at First Sight” and “Say Yes to the Dress,” so it was a surprise to me when one day I started watching “North Woods Law” on Animal Planet. The show features game wardens going about their daily duty in the wooden state of Maine.

51xfgz17z2l-_sx376_bo1204203200_Even more disconcerting? I loved every minute of it.

I would cheer them on when they caught someone unexpectedly with a warrant; when they went on the search for poachers or investigated a discarded carcass. It is a thrill watching them protect and serve for the resources so many of us might take for granted.

I am sad to say I was one of them. I remember when I was little, my dad would take us fishing. I wasn’t a big fan because a) I would have to touch worms (gross!) and b) if I caught a fish, then I would have to touch that too! So I didn’t stop to think about the many other people who enjoy such a thing. How over-fishing depletes our resources. It was a great glimpse that broadened my horizons and made me more environmentally aware.

So, what does this have to do with romance?

Recently, I wondered if anyone had written a romance featuring game wardens. Wouldn’t that offer some great growth and development – an 41k7jvh1t3lopportunity to research? (As a librarian, I am all about the research). I know there are many police officer romances, but what about game wardens located in Maine? In Texas? Even Washington State? (They all have shows too on Animal Planet too, fyi.)

I researched a few promising books on a Goodreads compilation list, and I do plan to go through them (and review them on here!) . My question, however, is if anyone else has noticed some careers that are overlooked in romance?

My twitter feed has been buzzing lately with diversifying what we find on our shelves. I am a big proponent of being able to read what you want to read.

51hbg2mf93l-_sx331_bo1204203200_But what about diversifying careers as well? There’s a multitude of firefighters and construction workers and doctors, but what about a post office worker who happens to meet the love of his life when her mailbox happens to catch fire? Or perhaps a female mechanic that works on Big Rigs and meets her match in a gruff, loner lumberjack that happens upon her one snowy evening?  A commercial fisherman whose prime catching spot just so happens to be a rival private fisher woman?

Where’s the average Joe in romance?

So, if anyone has some good options/ideas please comment and share. Look me up on twitter @cornymuffin009 and retweet a book that you just happened to have read or heard about at your local library.Until then, check out the ones I featured in this blog post (and one Park Ranger story. Slightly different, but the premise sounded awfully good.) and let me know what you think!

Happy reading, all!

Leave a Reply

