ARC Review: Some Kind of Hero by Suzanne Brockmann

Okay, guys, I’m about to gush about how much I loved this book.

23303664Suzanne Brockmann initiated me into the Romantic Suspense genre. I remember picking up the first book in the Troubleshooters series and falling quite hopelessly in love with the writing style. I actually made a list of every single book (I think it was about 8 or 9 in the series at the time) and had my mother buy me the rest. I was thrilled when I got them and proceeded to read and fall in love with each book and each character. I’m not sure how I got so far behind until I finally picked up the 17th book, Some Kind of Hero. It was like coming home.

You know, it’s not about not being afraid—it’s about taking action despite the fear,” he pointed out. “That’s called courage.”

Shayla Whitman is an author of Romantic Suspense who has a bad case of writer’s block. That’s the least of her problems when the hot Daddy Seal who lives across the street runs in front of her car and demands she “follow that car!” It looks like Shayla’s been called into a novel of her own real life adventure story as she helps piece together the disappearance of Lieutenant Peter Greene’s daughter, Maddie.

Gosh, did I fall hard for these characters. Shayla is hilarious! A writer, she’s quirky and smart and kind of a badass genius. She’s also the mother of two boys and has her most-popular written character, Harry, constantly giving his two cents. I love how Shayla jumps in, no holds barred, even though she doesn’t know Peter Greene all that well. I also love how she never does what Peter expects. Gotta keep ’em on their toes!

This book wasn’t written like anything else I’ve ever read. I love that there’s a story within a story here. Shayla’s character, Harry, is constantly talking to her, and I totally get this (any writer will sympathize 100% because Yes! Exactly that!) Harry becomes the running commentary of readers—showing his frustrations, egging Shayla on for silly things she or Peter do or don’t do. It’s like a real life reader is present in the story, and that’s you. I was charmed to my toes!

Man, the way her brain clicked along at a million miles an hour was a thing of beauty to behold.

That quote sealed me in. I did my half-swoon as Peter Greene comments on his delight in the heroine’s brain. I literally had a moment of silence. *listens to the many others swoon.*

That makes it a quite emphatic yes, please to Peter Greene. He’s got this aura of control, but he’s also such a down-to-earth sweetheart who finds himself with a teen-aged girl on his hands! (You don’t have to be a parent to sympathize with that.) I love how he accepts Shayla’s quirky nature, and he’s more than willing to let her lead. I was flipping pages as fast as I could, and I still wasn’t reading fast enough.

We get even more than that, however. There’s some deep-seated issues to be dealt with along the way, some harsh realities too, that had me crying and so angry at the injustices of it all. I appreciate that these moments are in here, that this book acknowledges them. Alongside the mystery surrounding Maddie’s disappearance, it offers a well-rounded, deeply emotional experience.

Ms. Brockmann can write tension and heartbreak, humor and high-octane adventure all in one, and it’s a delightful combination that has me hitting myself upside the head for being so far behind in this series. I will continue to recommend this book–the entire Troubleshooters series–all day long.

Some Kind of Hero is Ms. Brockmann at her finest. You’ll want to go deep into your reading fort for this one. 5 stars!

Releases on July 11th!

Buy Your Copy!

Amazon  Barnes & Noble  iBooks

Leave a Reply

